The Mass Murder Problem

Discussion of Skeptic magazine and Letters to the Editor
theonly

The Mass Murder Problem

Postby theonly » Tue Apr 23, 2013 11:43 pm

Re: Article by David Hillshafer...

Is the 10 year period during which there was an assault weapon ban enough time to see an effect? I know little about guns, but I do know that they are relatively non-perishable. Is there any data as to how many gun crimes (homicides or mass murders) are committed with newly purchased guns, and how many with older, second hand, or stolen guns?

It seems to me that if a sizeable portion are committed with guns that were not bought in the conventional manner within a decade of the crime, a decade's ban might not show an effect that would become apparent if the ban were in place for a longer period of time.

Also, to my understanding (and I am far from an expert), part of the point of a ban is not just to restrict immediate access, but to change the culture surrounding the subject of the ban. Am I correct in this? If so, would that not also take more than a decade - perhaps even a time period spanning a generation in that high-risk age group mentioned in the article (15-50)?

Curious to hear others' thoughts.

Gord
Real Skeptic
Custom Title: Silent Ork

Re: The Mass Murder Problem

Postby Gord » Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:22 am

From what I've heard in the past: No. The ban was expected to start having an effect after ten or twelve years.

But I don't know. That's what I heard, but it could have no basis in reality 'cause I listen to left-wing comedy shows for my news. :mrgreen:
"Knowledge grows through infinite timelessness" -- the random fictional Deepak Chopra quote site
"You are also taking my words out of context." -- Justin
"Nullius in verba" -- The Royal Society ["take nobody's word for it"]
#ANDAMOVIE

theonly

Postby theonly » Wed Apr 24, 2013 12:45 am