More on PhD Research into Skeptics Forum

What does make the world turn?
omarshucl

More on PhD Research into Skeptics Forum

Postby omarshucl » Sun Dec 20, 2015 2:50 pm

Hello,

For those who didn't see my first post on this topic, or have been bought here by Pyrrho's link - I'm a PhD student who's been studying this subforum as part of research into online conversations about science. I've included the text of the original post I made below in case you want more details.

Update for everyone #1: My study's moved on a bit and now I'd like to compare the Science subforum to other subforums on Skeptics. This would basically involve putting lots of text from other subforums through some automatic software which creates topic clusters (by working out which words frequently occur close together), and also reading some conversations to see if the themes I've found for the Science subforums apply to other forums too. The key point is that I would not refer to any specific incidents or conversations on any subforums outside Science. I'm also only using publically available information and avoiding safespaces. Nonetheless I wanted to check if any of you would be uncomfortable with this and you'd like me to exclude your posts or comments - if so please do let me know.

Update for everyone #2: Massive thanks to those who've talked to me about this subforum previously, there's been some very helpful information. I'll be doing 'round 2' of thinking about this subforum over the next couple of months, so any more conversations would be really welcomed; please do comment below, email me on oliver[dot]marsh[dot]13@ucl[dot]ac[dot]uk, or PM me.

Thanks,
Oliver

Hello,