What could I be lacking in my perspective?

How should we think about weird things?
MG100

What could I be lacking in my perspective?

Post by MG100 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:20 pm

Hi all,

I am a newbie here and would like to get some feedback on my thinking style. I will be giving an example for you to assess. I am doing an online critical thinking course and the assignments are peer reviewed. In this case, we had to come up with arguments to support a given conclusion. Here is the argument I created:

Premise 1: Certain tree species are declared protected when their existing amount is at or below the level required to maintain a natural environment.
Premise 2: They take decades to mature but only minutes to remove or harm.
Therefore, generally
Conclusion: you shouldn’t cut down protected trees.

Then I came across the following argument from a peer.

Premise 1: Protected trees are protected for a reason. Perhaps they’re very beautiful or rare, or serve a particular purpose, e.g. as homes to wildlife
Premise 2: Protected trees are often particular to New Zealand and are therefore important for preserving our native flora.
Premise 3: There are often very heavy fines for people who cut down protected trees
Premise 4: Many people care passionately about protected trees and cutting one down will not help you in the popularity stakes
Conclusion : Therefore, you probably shouldn’t cut down protected trees

I realized that her premises about the fine and other people's feelings about the trees, never came to my mind when I was trying to come up with my argument.

I was wondering what are some areas I need to focus on to improve my critical thinking.

landrew
Has More Than 8K Posts

Re: What could I be lacking in my perspective?

Post by landrew » Mon Oct 22, 2018 3:51 pm

The difference is focus. The first one is motivated by social responsibility towards the environment. The second is motivated towards social acceptance and personal non-gratification.